Women in Film and Television NZ presents

WIFT NZ Awards

8 JUL 2022 — Awards



Women in Film and Television (NZ)


240 minutes



The biennial WIFT NZ Awards honour the achievements of women in the New Zealand screen industry with an uplifting formal ceremony and a great party afterwards.

From women to watch to unsung heroines, the biennial WIFT NZ Awards celebrate the outstanding achievements of women and the gender diverse in all aspects of the New Zealand screen industry.

It's an occasion to dress up and party with nominees, friends, supporters and all your industry colleagues, whatever their gender!

Your ticket will get you a couple of drinks (cash bar for more!), canapes, and some pretty sweet surprises, ensuring you are entertained and happy all evening.

From a welcome drink, to the uplifting awards presentation, followed by a spirited party, the WIFT Awards are a significant event in the local screen industry calendar. Come by yourself, come as a group - join us and share the spirit!

The Awards are presented by Women in Film and Television (NZ) Inc with support from NZ On Air and generous sponsors: Fulcrum Media Finance, Great Southern Film & Television, Images & Sound, Imagezone, Professional Lighting Services, Queenstown Camera Company, SAE Institute, South Pacific Pictures, Te Mangai Paho, Tautai Contemporary Pacific Arts Trust, and the Weta Group.

Women in Film and Television NZ



Non Member $120

WIFT Member $90

WIFT NZ 2022 Awards Finalists

WIFT NZ is delighted to announce the finalists for ten award categories, as selected by the judging panel of Jill Macnab (Chair), Anna Canton, Vicky Pope, Kath Graham, Kath Thomas, Samantha Jukes, Morgan Leigh Stewart and Sally Campbell, with input from Blake Ihimaera, Teremoana Rapley and the various category sponsors.

South Pacific Pictures Award for Achievement in Film
Ainsley Gardiner and Briar Grace-Smith for Cousins
Vicky Pope for Savage
Chelsea Winstanley for Jojo Rabbit

Imagezone Entrepreneurship Award
Aliesha Staples – Staples VR
Maru Nihoniho – Metia Interactive
Sharlene George – The Sweetshop

Images & Sound Award for Success in Television
Jessica Hobbs for The Crown
Janine Morrell-Gunn for her body of work first broadcast between 1 July 2019
and 30 June 2021
Rose Matafeo for Horndog and Starstruck

Professional Lighting Services Award for Unsung Heroine of the NZ Screen Industry
Dianne Moffatt
Paula Jones
Viv Wigby-Ngātai

SAE Award for Outstanding Newcomer
Cian Elyse White
Grace Palmer
Grae Meek

Fulcrum Media Finance Woman to Watch Award
Morgan Waru
Shoshana McCallum
Sophie Dowson

Queenstown Camera Company Craft Award
Kelly Chen
Melissa Ririnui
Sophie Lloyd

The Weta Group Creative Technology Award
Alana Cotton
Cushla Dillon
Krystal Paraone

Te Māngai Pāho Te Reo Māori Champion Award
Oriini Kaipara
Reikura Kahi
Te O Kahurangi Karen Waaka

Tautai Award for Moana Excellence in the Screen Industry
Kerry Warkia
Lisa Taouma
Ngaire Fuata
Sima Urale

The Tautai Award for Moana Excellence in the Screen Industry is new this year and has
been created to recognise the significant contribution of the many Moana Pasifika women working in the screen industry in Aotearoa New Zealand.