Dentons Kensington Swan season of

By The Way, Meet Vera Stark

By Lynn Nottage

8 SEP - 27 SEP 2020 — Drama

About.

Company

Auckland Theatre Company

Duration

2 hours 30 mins, including interval

Restrictions

None

The lead up to a show takes many months as contracts are signed, designs are rolled out and sets are built. Due to these commitments we have made the decision to cancel the Dentons Kensington Swan season of By The Way, Meet Vera Stark. Regrettably, at this point we do not have sufficient confidence we can proceed as planned in September.


 

Style, sass and spotlights — it’s the Golden Age of Hollywood, and the indomitable Vera Stark is ready to make her mark in Tinseltown!

As a housemaid to the silver screen’s biggest, blondest bombshell, Vera’s perfectly poised to seize the chance for her breakout role. But for African-Americans in the 1930s, big-screen dreams and real life are a messy combination...

Chronicling Vera’s rise to silver screen glory and her subsequent tumble into obscurity, By The Way, Meet Vera Stark is a barbed-wire screwball take on the oft-overlooked legacy of African-American actresses and the injustices they faced at the hands of Hollywood executives. Playwright Lynn Nottage is the only woman to have won the Pulitzer Prize for Drama twice. While her body of work ranges from searing drama to uproarious comedy, Nottage’s dedication to placing unsung stories in the spotlight shines through all her work. ATC proudly presents the New Zealand premiere of By The Way, Meet Vera Stark.

"So clever, so playful, so keen to shapeshift and timeslip and whiz through half a dozen separate genres." - The New York Times

"A dazzling comedy about racial identity in Hollywood." - New York Post

Dates &
Times.

Tue 8 Sep 7:00 PM Preview

Buy Tickets

Wed 9 Sep 7:00 PM Preview

Buy Tickets

Thu 10 Sep 8:00 PM Opening Night

Buy Tickets

Fri 11 Sep 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sat 12 Sep 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sun 13 Sep 4:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Tue 15 Sep 7:00 PM Youth Forum

Buy Tickets

Wed 16 Sep 7:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Thu 17 Sep 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Fri 18 Sep 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sat 19 Sep 2:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sat 19 Sep 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sun 20 Sep 4:00 PM EAT/TALK/PLAY

Buy Tickets

Tue 22 Sep 7:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Wed 23 Sep 7:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Thu 24 Sep 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Fri 25 Sep 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sat 26 Sep 2:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sat 26 Sep 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sun 27 Sep 4:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Special Events

Backstage Story

Discover the world behind the curtain, find out what takes place in the rehearsal room at these behind-the-scenes talks with the director, designers, and cast of each show.

Auckland Theatre Company Studios
487 Dominion Rd, Mount Eden
Carpark & entry off Brixton Road

Monday, 17 August, 6:30pm

EAT/TALK/PLAY

Join us before the performance to hear from a guest speaker and gain a deeper understanding of the context of the play you are about to see. Enjoy a drink and snack in the comfortable surroundings of the Villa Maria Gallery.

Sunday, 20 September, 2:45pm